Entries Open for 25th Annual Brick in Architecture Awards

Words: Dan KamysEntries Open for 25th Annual Brick in Architecture Awards

Entries open on Feb. 10 for the Brick Industry Association's (BIA) Brick in Architecture Awards. Celebrating its silver anniversary, BIA's annual honors spotlight outstanding, innovative and sustainable architecture that incorporates clay brick products as the predominant exterior building or paving material.

Entries are conducted entirely online, and are due by April 30, 2014. To enter and for details, go to: www.gobrick.com/architectureawards

"Now in its 25th year, the Brick in Architecture Awards continue to be the premier industry honors, and the most prestigious juried competition of its kind," says Ray Leonhard, BIA president and CEO. "Made from abundant natural resources, fired clay brick offers aesthetic flexibility to match the architect’s imagination and desires, and is a perfect strategy in sustainable design.”

Architectural and design firms from around the country can enter their best material to be judged by a jury of their peers. Any work of architecture completed since Jan. 1, 2009, in which clay brick products comprise the predominant exterior building or paving material (over 50 percent), is eligible. 

These include face or hollow brick, building brick, thin brick, paving brick, glazed brick, structural glazed facing tile, clay brick products in special shapes and/or a combination of any of these aforementioned units. An entrant may submit more than one project for consideration, and previously submitted projects can be entered once again as long as they were completed since 2009.

Entries must be submitted online in one or more of the below categories:

-Commercial (Under $10 Million)
-Commercial (Over $10 Million)
-Education – K-12
-Education – Colleges & Universities (Higher Education)*
-Health Care Facilities
-Houses of Worship
-Residential – Single Family
-Residential – Multi-Family
-Renovation (Additions)**/Restoration (Restoring)
-Paving & Landscape Projects  

*Includes residence halls & academic/administrative buildings
**Additions must use at least 50 percent new clay brick products on the building.

Restoration construction must include at least 50 percent clay brick products, which can either be new or salvaged.           

Judged by a jury of peers, the 2013 Brick in Architecture Awards spanned almost half the country in 21 states, including green building practices that have earned Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) ratings.

For more information contact Tricia Mauer at tmauer@bia.org

Four Different Types of Natural Stone Used For Masonry

Natural stone has been a staple in masonry for centuries. Before it was used to transform home and landscape designs on residential properties, it was used for historical buildings and some of the most iconic destinations in the world.

Advice to the Beginners

The best advice I could give anyone that is starting a career in masonry is that first and foremost, you must "know" yourself. What do you like to do? What would you like in a working environment? Do you like to be outside? Do you enjoy physical activity

About: Featured
Masonry Safety Inspections

The look of confusion and utter loss on people’s faces when I tell them that I’m a safety inspector for a masonry company is often hilarious.

About: Safety
Dave Jollay Announced as Third Inductee for MCAA 2024 Hall of Fame

Following in the footsteps of his father, O.L. Jollay, the founder of Jollay Masonry, Inc., Dave Jollay has carved out a remarkable career in the masonry industry.